Winners Announced For The 2021 Digital Equality Award

Coalition for Digital Equality
2 min readJul 22, 2021

Coalition for Digital Equality (CODE), a network connecting local and international stakeholders to address the digital gender divide and drive sustainable economic growth in Africa, has announced winners for the Digital Equality Awards.

The Digital Equality Awards aim to recognise the achievements of individuals in Ghana and Uganda who are working to push the boundaries of digital inclusion and transformation in Africa.

The awards look to acknowledge individuals who are enabling digital skills, innovation and knowledge to improve the lives of African women, youth, marginalized groups and communities.

More than 100 nominations were received for the various categories in Ghana and Uganda. Out of this 4 winners were announced for each country. Four judges, two from each country led the scoring for the nominees. You can find out more about the judges here.

The winners of the Digital Equality Awards represent a generation of leaders innovating solutions to ensure a more inclusive digital economy.

Here is a full list winners by country.

Ghana winners

Jemila Abdulai, Founder, Digital Strategist, Digital Skills Trainer & Coach Circumspecte — Digital Skills Champion

Lily Edinam Botsyoe, IT Community Engagement Lead — Research and Knowledge Builder

Isaac Sesi, CEO, Sesi Technologies — Digital Inclusion Innovator

Amma Gyampo, Co-Founder & CEO, ScaleUp Africa LTD — Women’s Entrepreneurship and Investment Champion

Ghana winners

Uganda winners

Syamukehere Rosette, Founder, Hope for Young Mothers — Digital Skills Champion

Neema Iyer, Founder, Pollicy — Research and Knowledge Builder

Aaron Kirunda, Founder & CEO, Enjuba — Digital Inclusion Innovator

Sherifah Tumusiime, Group CEO, Zimba Women — Women’s Entrepreneurship and Investment Champion

Uganda winners